NSFM's Climate Change Leaders Award honours municipalities that have demonstrated exemplary leadership in climate change adaption and/or mitigation through the implementation of initiatives and creation of awareness. The objectives of the award program are to celebrate successes, encourage continuous action towards climate change adaptation and mitigation, support the implementation of strategies from Municipal Climate Change Action Plans, and support collaborative efforts and the sharing of information among municipalities.

The Climate Change Leaders Award is presented annual at NSFM's Fall Conference.

Past winners

2019 - Municipality of the County of Colchester for Solar Colchester, a community initiative designed to make renewable energy more accessible and affordable for residents.  

2018 - Town of Bridgewater for Energize Bridgewater - a community-wide initiative to accelerate the community’s transition to a clean energy economy

2017 - Towns of Antigonish, Berwick and Mahone Bay for their collaboration on the Alternative Resource Energy Authority’s Wind Farm in Ellershouse

2016 - District of Digby, District of Lunenburg, District of Shelburne and Town of Bridgewater for their Clean Energy Financing Programs

2015 - County of Antigonish for its collaboration on the climate change film: Listening to Our Neighbours, Exploring a Changing Climate in Antigonish

2014 - Municipality of the District of Digby for its biogas project that is turning mink waste into energy and the District of Shelburne for improvements to its wastewater treatment infrastructure that not only reduce greenhouse gas emissions but incorporated climate change projections into the design of its new facility

2013 - HRM for its Solar City Project